Stefan Neubauer © Daniela Huber; Johannes Piirto © Kaapo Kamu
For the 90th birthday of Eugene Hartzell
Stefan Neubauer, Johannes Piirto
Arnold Schönberg Center
Thursday, 19 May 2022
7.30 pm
Stefan Neubauer © Daniela Huber; Johannes Piirto © Kaapo Kamu

Stefan Neubauer clarinet
Johannes Piirto piano

Alban BERG Vier Stücke op. 5
Hans Erich APOSTEL Sonatine für Klarinette op. 19/2
Eugene HARTZELL Sonata for Clarinet and Piano
René STAAR Brief Definition – Memorial for Eugene Hartzell (WP)
Eugene HARTZELL from Nine Uncritical Pieces for Piano
Johannes BRAHMS Sonate Es-Dur op. 120/2

Tickets € 14 | Free admission for persons under 26 years
Online reservation

Arnold Schönberg’s twelve-tone method continued to develop in music after the Second World War almost independently of its inventor. Few composers remained faithful to the convictions of the master of the Viennese School – among them Hans Erich Apostel and his pupil Eugene Hartzell (* May 21, 1932, † April 20, 2000). The combination of their clarinet works with a classic by Johannes Brahms shows how closely the dodecaphony is connected with the musical thinking of the late 19th century.

Cooperation with Eugene Hartzell Office